Skip to content

Tilda’s Shoji Screen/Room Divider Directions

August 21, 2010

Hello!   Hope you’re having a good weekend.   I’ve received a few emails asking how this screen behind Tilda on this card was made  . . .

 

Here’s a quick photo tutorial on how I did it:

Supplies used:  

 

I used the middle die from a Spellbinders Nestabilities Long Classic Rectangle LG set, which measures   1  7/8  x  3  3/4;  However, I think a rectangle punch approximately this same size will work also. 

cardstock

vellum paper

 paper-cutter

Cuttlebug or other due cutting machine

adhesive

removable tape

 

  • Cut cardstock to 4 1/2 by 4 1/2 inches, and cut vellum to 4 3/8  by  4 3/8 inches.   (Sorry, I only had this dotted vellum in my stash as an example.)

  

 

  • Place die on cardstock, centered on one half.   Note, I’ve adhered it with a small piece of removeable tape to be sure it doesn’t shift in the Cuttlebug.   

 

 

  • Run this through the machine and move the die to the other half of your cardstock.   Be sure to save the two inside pieces for later use.

 

 

 

 

  • Apply adhesive to back of cardstock “frame”.

 

 

  • And attach pre-cut vellum piece.

 

 

  • The final step is to take the center pieces of cardstock and cut your dividing pieces.   I just cut these without measuring, I believe they are about 1/4 inch wide.  You don’t have to worry about the length, if you cut the longer pieces from one and the cross pieces from the other piece – they will fit perfectly.

 

 

  •  And attach these to your frame.     Done!    Your mini Shoji is now ready for Tilda.    🙂

 

 

I hope this was helpful!    If you do use this idea for a card, I’d love to see it.    Thanks for all your VERY kind comments!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann G permalink
    August 21, 2010 11:37 am

    Thanks so much for the directions. My scrappin sister Kim emailed you for the directions and when we got together last night to play, we were guessing how you did it. Now, we can see for ourselves, and I can tell you, I would have gone about it a much harder way! Yikes! Just love the card. Thanks again for sharing your tutorial!

  2. Linda Slattery permalink
    August 21, 2010 1:52 pm

    Hi Mary, I just finished reading through your tutorial on making the screen. I do not own this Magnolia stamp, and no plans to buy it, so I will be unlikely to use your instructions. However, you have spent time and money to put this information on the net, and to graciously share it with other crafters. You did a wonderful job of explaining your step -by- step process, and your photos are clear and very helpful. I just wanted to let you know others appreciate your efforts and work. Linda S. in NE

  3. August 21, 2010 7:07 pm

    Small idea. Thanks for the tutorial Mary :o)
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  4. August 21, 2010 7:08 pm

    Oh my gosh! This is INCREDIBLE! What a beautiful Tilda and what an exquisite background! Thanks so much for the detailed description and pictures! I don’t have this Tilda but now I’m thinking I need her 😉
    Beautiful!!!

  5. August 21, 2010 7:21 pm

    Thanks so much for the fabulous tutorial, Mary! You’ve made it amazingly easy and it gives such a beautiful effect!
    Hugs,
    Barb

  6. August 21, 2010 7:44 pm

    Thank you for sharing how you made that. The card was super cool and your coloring was fabulous as always!!!
    hugs,
    Shell

  7. August 21, 2010 9:15 pm

    Mary,
    THANK YOU so much for giving the directions for this very cute screen. I have another asian set from SU that I was thinking would be nice with this. I appreciate your tutorial.

  8. August 21, 2010 11:13 pm

    Wow! This is an excellent pic tutorial Mary! Thank you so much for sharing this. As soon as I get my asian girls, I will try this! Hugs, Cami

  9. August 22, 2010 1:37 am

    Beautiful! Your coloring is gorgeous!
    Hugs, Christine

  10. cathylynn permalink
    August 22, 2010 7:02 am

    Thank you so much for sharing your creative tutorial with us. You make it look so easy and it’s so well done. Your whole card is just too gorgeous for words!

  11. August 22, 2010 9:29 am

    Thanks for this tute. It will be perfect for my son’s Chinese wife on her next birthday. I know she will be delighted with it and I can’t wait to make it! TFS
    Sue S.

  12. Anne Dodd permalink
    August 22, 2010 12:06 pm

    I loved your Tilda card when you posted it! It is so sweet of you to share your technique for the shoji screen! You are very clever and kind!

  13. August 22, 2010 12:57 pm

    Great tutorial. Thanks so much for sharing!

  14. Kathy Gerace permalink
    August 22, 2010 4:37 pm

    I got this stamp and when I received it, I thought “What was I thinking when I ordered this?” Our church supports missionaries to China. So— I can make some very unique cards for them. Thank you so much for sharing this tute. It is excellent.
    Huggeroonies,
    Kathy Gerace

  15. August 22, 2010 6:03 pm

    Oh she is gorgeous! I love the screen in the background too! Thanks for the tutorial. This Tilda is just beautiful and so is your coloring! hugs, Angela

  16. August 23, 2010 12:03 am

    WOW this is gorgeous….I love the colors this TIlda looks so pretty x x

  17. August 23, 2010 1:51 am

    Love this cute card. Thank you for the tutorial, it’s great.

  18. Janice M. permalink
    August 23, 2010 5:57 am

    Thanks so much for the detailed directions on how you did that card!! Very nice of you to share!!

  19. September 3, 2010 5:38 pm

    so nice of you to share that toot! it’s so unique! gorgeous Tilda coloring and card…but I’m always in love with your work
    hugs
    Linda

  20. September 6, 2010 1:46 pm

    Wow your art is just amazing, your card is so beautiful. I like the colors. I am painting through synesthesia which makes me see colors when I hear names and numbers. These colors I transform in paintings. Colors are my life. The name Tilda makes great colors for me, I see light blue-lilac, little light red and very little light green.

  21. September 29, 2010 7:46 am

    Your entire BLOG is stunning, this card is amazing … wow. Thanks for the inspiration.

  22. March 25, 2011 11:36 am

    I really love this card and I will try to use vellum like this beautiful card.

    Thanks for sharing.

  23. March 28, 2011 3:14 am

    I did it, you can see my card here :

    http://www.magnolia-and-me.com/?p=160

    Have a good good day !

Trackbacks

  1. Magnolia and Me » Blog Archive » Le printemps est dans l’air-Spring is in the air

Leave a Reply

